De Marne produces food. Therefore we regularly receive questions about the presence of gluten and allergens in our products. We know how important it is for our clients to be well informed, which is the reason why we always give an extensive and honest answer. Below you will find information about gluten and allergens in our mustard products.
Our mustard products are essentially gluten free. We don’t use any ingredients containing gluten in our products. Exceptions are the mustard sauces. These can contain gluten.
The possibility exists that, when harvesting the mustard seeds, a lost wheat spike accidentally gets lost in the harvested seeds. Naturally, the mustard seeds are cleaned and sifted in the factory but nonetheless the slight chance remains that material containing gluten eventually ends up in the mustard, even though precautions are being taken.
With smooth mustard variants, such as Dutch mustard, Honey mustard, Dijon mustard and French mustard, the chance of it containing gluten will be smaller than with mustards which have a more rough texture. These mustards, such as the Groninger mustard, de Limburgse mustard and the Antigua mustard exist out of coarsely ground mustard seeds. Pieces of material containing gluten could potentially get lost in the mixture. Fortunately the chance of these materials getting mixed together is very small.
In smooth mustard, potential traces of gluten will be diffused in the mustard compared to mustard which has a more rough texture. Samples of smooth mustards proved that it contains less than 20ppm gluten. Nevertheless we do realize that these values cannot account for all our products.
The following allergenic substances are produced in our factory: mustard seeds, sulfite, cinnamon, coriander, pulses and, in our mustard sauces, egg and wheat. These allergenic substances are in ingredients we get supplied and/or use.